Uncategorized

Reading the World

One of my new year’s resolution’s for this year, and many years beyond, was to read a book from every country in the world.

Its hardly an original idea.  I recently discovered that its been done fairly thoroughly over at http://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/  But i decided I need a variety of voices in my life. Its easy to fall into the habit of just reading whatever is on the best seller list, usually english speaking white men.  Not always a bad thing, but its time for something new for me.

I found an online book club that reads books around the world, but its about where the book is set rather than where the author comes from, so it easy just to read books set in other countries written by the same voices you’ve always read, but I want a more authentic story.

It can be difficult though.  People don’t always just belong to one country.  Many people move countries.  Someone can be born in one country, and grow up in another.  Some people live in multiple countries. Some people even have citizenship in more than one country.  Some people grow up in a country but still identify themselves as part of the country of their parents.  If an author describes themselves as Haitian American, do I tick off Haiti or USA?

There also seems to be the problem that not every country has books translated into English.  I will leave those countries until the end. Maybe it will change. Otherwise I’ll make do by reading a book set in that country.

I’m also wondering if i should start from scratch, or do i include books that I’ve read in the past.

So i have a lot of questions, but i’ll just feel my way through it and see how i go.

I just wanted to write about it here, because i wanted somewhere to document the journey.  I’ll create a page with a list of countries so that I can mark them off as i go.  I might include some book reviews along the way.  I’m looking forward to the challenge.

2 thoughts on “Reading the World

Leave a Reply

