Gaming

My WoW was Violated

A couple of days ago I received an email saying that my World of Warcraft account had been suspended for 3 hours due to constant spamming. I was a bit taken aback, as I have barely played WoW since getting married, and I don’t think I’ve logged on this year.  And even when I am on, I wouldn’t be doing anything like spamming.  I immediately tried to reset my password, but had issues getting the authenticator to work.  Just last night I had my husband look at it, without much more success.

This morning I discover another email saying that they’ve closed down my whole account, as it seems that someone has been using WoW gold in exchange for real life currency under my name.  It upset me so much I nearly burst into tears on the spot.  Over a computer game!

I waited on hold to the blizzard people for 45 minutes.  I’m glad that no one took the call while I was showering.  I had to do something productive while i was waiting, and I still had to go to work.  I don’t think the “My WoW account got hacked” would suffice for being late.  The man I spoke to was very helpful and reassuring.  Hopefully by now the problem has been rectified, but I haven’t had the chance to check yet.  I’m told they will be able to return me all my gold and other items.  Not that I really had much to start with, but obviously enough to make it worthwhile for someone to keep hacking into my account these last couple of days.

Maybe this is a sign that its time to get back into playing it.  I still haven’t brought over my own computer to the new house.  My husband and I did say we were going to play on our respective computers together for our honeymoon, but it never happened.

I really must bring my computer home.

One thought on “My WoW was Violated

Leave a Reply

