Uncategorized

Comic Book Confidential

Comic books and graphic novels have always seemed to be something that was relegated to nerds and geeks.  It was always easy to dismiss such things as childish and immature and for people who don’t really have a life or haven’t grown up.  I have discovered that such a view point is for the ignorant, as comic books can contain some amazing stories.  It is so much more than Archie or various super heroes.

My sister introduced me to comics through Terry Moore’s Stranger’s in Paradise.  Such a fantastic story.

Its about two high school friends who went seperate ways but found each other again.  Its full of sexual chemistry, and love triangles, and secret pasts, and deadly assassins.  It will make you laugh, and cry, and at times, break your heart.

I’m glad i got into it late in the series, because waiting for my sister to show up with the latest edition was torture.  A bit like waiting for the next episode of The Guild to come out.

Having experienced such beauty in comic form, it has made me alot more open to the concept.  During the Christmas break, I read a copy of Maus, by Art Spiegelman.  In comic form, Art tells the story of his father, a Polish Jew who survived the Holocaust.  The story is so intense, that you barely notice that the characters are mice, cats, or another form of animal.

This is a unique form of story-telling, that its a shame that so many people aren’t aware of it, and are missing out.

And with The Guild comic, being produced by Dark Horse, coming out in March, it provides so much more to get excited about in this genre.  I’m sure there is so much more out there for me to discover.

6 thoughts on “Comic Book Confidential

  1. Hi there,

    I came here following a link from Cultural Lesson’s blog.

    I loved SIP. I started reading it when one of my co-workers at a bookstore I used to work in, thrust it into my hands. Sometimes I tired of Francine’s constant self-victimization and Katchoo’s violent tendencies. But then, those were the issues they had to work on throughout the series. Very believable characters and well-written all around.

      1. Yes, me. Mwah-ha-ha-ha.
        And, no, just ask her who introduced to the things that she introduced you two that I introduced her to. It’s easy. Think of all the things she introduced you to. Intuitively know who introduced her. Only ask about those things that you already intuitively know I introduced her to.

Leave a Reply

