The Great Gatsby

12/14/2010 at 5:30 AM (Movies) (, , , , , , )

One of my favourite books from the high school curriculum was The Great Gatsby. I love the way its written from the point of view of an outsider, getting a glimpse into this world of wealthy socialites. I remember our English teacher telling us about the dangers of falling in love with the idea of love. I love the way it captures the feel of the 1920s, a decade that I have come to love from a distance of nine decades later, so much so that I had a 1920s themed engagement party. Its an easy read, so its a good one to pass on to someone just starting to get interested in such classics. It is one of the books I encouraged my husband to read when he first started his journey into literature.

After his movie, Australia, I had heard rumours that Baz Luhrmann was going to remake The Great Gatsby.  Part of me was thrilled, while another part of me was anxious.  I found the Mia Farrow/Robert Redford movie rather disappointing after reading the book.  I don’t know if its because the movie never really captured that magic, or if the movie just makes the annoyingness of Daisy just too real.   I was also worried Baz would be casting Nicole Kidman as Daisy, as he has cast her in his last two movies.

My interest has been renewed after seeing a clip at the cinema about the new movie.

Carey Mulligan has been cast as Daisy. Her performance in An Education was fantastic, so it will be interesting to see what she would do with Daisy.

Leonardo di Caprio has been cast as Jay Gatsby. Leo previously starred in Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo and Juliet, so they have worked together before. I’ve never seen that movie though. When it came out, I was going through my anti-Leo phase, because all the other girls were crushing on him, but the older I get, and the more I see of his performances, the more I love Leonardo di Caprio. I must go back and see Romeo and Juliet.  I think Leo will be fantastic as Jay, but i worry about the age difference between him and Carey, but that could just be because the only thing I’ve seen her in is as a high school student. Baz released a photo to Deadline.com of the actress in her new role.

Photo: Baz Luhrmann. Copyright: Bazmark

 Tobey McGuire has been picked as Nick Carraway, who i think is a superb choice. 

I really hope that this movie will be a success, if only for the opportunity of a whole new generation of people to read the book and fall in love with it, too.

 

1 Comment

  1. Chazz Byron said,

    It could be good and defiantly go see Romeo Juliet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

